chroniclesofeverything

Resolve and ReResolve

Posted on: June 29, 2012

I don’t write enough.

That’s the conclusion that I came to late last night. I don’t just mean ‘I don’t blog enough’. I write when I’m required to by uni. You gotta love externally imposed discipline and deadlines! I also write when I’m so inspired by an idea that a piece writes itself in my head and it refuses to dissipate until I write it out.

Writing does occasionally exert itself as a productive procrastination tool, or it snatches a few minutes of my time on public transport. For the most part though, writing is something that gets pushed around by my other commitments. It’s prioritised by work and uni, and it’s outright bullied by movies, friend-catch-ups, and slothful, stay in bed Sundays.

In short, I want to write more, and to do that, I plan to schedule time for it.

I know it’s the end of June, (National Young Writers Month) and that I was supposed to make a resolution 4 weeks and 1 day ago. I didn’t though. I had exams, and 2 essays to write… and writing got shoved forcefully to the backburner.

Frankly, I think it would be silly to wait around for June next year, when I can improve right now. Besides which, it’s highly unlikely that I’ll actually keep this resolution for long.

I hereby resolve to write for an hour every day. Write anything: poetry, my neglected novel, short stories, blog posts, articles for Student View. Excluded from this are uni essays and reports.

No doubt in a week or two, I’m going to have a busy day, and writing will be pushed to the side again.

As long as I pick it up the day after, or the day after that, I don’t think it matters. The most important part of will power isn’t never succumbing. This, I believe is true of all resolutions: dieting, fitness jaunts, average-raising study plans…

When you break a resolution it’s very easy to see it as defeat, to see the whole experience as over. I think that’s silly.

So you stayed in bed instead of running on a rainy day. So what. It’s certainly no reason to give up on something you genuinely want to change in your life.

Glue the shards of your determination back together and start again.

If you don’t hear from me for a while, hope that I’m pounding out chapter after chapter. If I’m not, I’ll let you about the baking I did while watching Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South for the millionth time.

Then I’ll re-resolve.

Why not?

2 Responses to "Resolve and ReResolve"

[…] My resolution to write regularly has gone the way of my many other resolutions. And happily, it happened long enough ago (3 weeks, give or take a bit) that I’m ready to reresolve […]

[…] My resolution to write regularly has gone the way of my many other resolutions. And happily, it happened long enough ago (3 weeks, give or take a bit) that I’m ready to reresolve […]

Leave a Reply

